The Sydney Morning Herald

Makeup Meltdown

How are you surviving the heat? Looks and composure still intact? I’ve found some great products that are making life easier this week and a little bit lovelier; come, let me share.

To keep my cool, I carry a tiny Evian water spray ($9.95, 50ml) which has the added cool factor of being an Australian Open limited edition (a special Jean-Paul Gaultlier edition will be available in Australia in late March). To keep the mosquitoes at bay on these sweltering evenings, I layer the acceptably scented Y-Yo products, including the body cream ($29.95, 200ml) and cologne ($39.95, 50ml). After a swim I wash with Aveda’s lovely new Sun Care Hair and Body Cleanser ($39.95, 250ml) to rid myself of chlorine or salt residue then slather on St Ives Vanilla Body Moisturiser ($6.99, 532ml). Beach days also mean major waterproof sunscreen gloop: I remove this easily with Shiseido’s Ultimate Cleansing Oil ($35, 150ml) before using my normal cleanser.
Makeup is still sometimes required in summer – even, alas, on 43C days. I prep with Laura Mercier’s Foundation Oil-Free Primer ($62), use my BeautyBlender makeup sponge ($29.95) to gain the lightest possible coverage and finish by misting Clarins Fix Make-up ($32) so it stays put. I don’t go anywhere without oil-blotting sheets. Mascara of the moment is Bobbi Brown’s Lash Glamour Lengthening in Smoke ($44) – it looks natural on sunny days. Ditto Sisley’s Phyto-lip Shine ($50). Its claim to fame is shine but I choose it, in cherry, for its sheerness. And I’m flying this weekend with Ciao Bella Travel Hair and Face Single Shots ($25.95) in case my luggage goes astray. Or melts.
What is working for you during the heatwave? Any recommendations?

Original blog entry:  http://blogs.smh.com.au/lifestyle/beautybeat/archives/2009/01/makeup_meltdown.html

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

