We Heart This – Beautyblender

Foundation has always been one of my favorite tools in my make-up arsenal. It has the power to even out my skin tone, give it a healthy-looking texture, and conveniently covers acne and all of its related grossness.

Unfortunately, applying it can sometimes be tricky. I’ve seen many foundation foibles on my friends – the foundation mask complete with defined line at the jaw, the caked-on application from just too many layers, etc. – and ever since I’ve always been paranoid that I might walk outside with a similar catastrophe on my face. (Thank you friends, for making these mistakes so that I could learn from them).

However, I am pleased to announce that I (and that means you too) no longer have to worry about such travesties! Now that I have a beautyblender ($35 for one sponge, plus cleanser), I legitimately feel like a foundation application expert. The beautyblender sponge looks something like a hot pink egg, ingeniously designed with no edges so foundation goes on evenly without streaks. Using the application method prescribed by inventors Rea Ann Silva and Veronica Lorenz (a bouncing or, as they call it, stippling action), my foundation goes on evenly every single time. Not only that, but I can now apply foundation faster and I waste less product.

The kit also comes with a bottle of blendercleanser – a soy-based cleanser that’s free of dyes and skin irritants. It may sound gentle, but this cleaner is one tough cookie. Not only did it get my beautyblender spotless every time, but it also stripped away all the gunk off of an ancient sponge from a compact that I got in high school (don’t worry, I don’t use it, I just thought it would be a miracle if the cleanser actually got it clean)! The advantage of cleaning the sponge is that your skin will stay cleaner and the sponge will last longer!

And when the sad day comes when your beautyblender bites the dust, the company will recycle it for you! Consider me a fan.

Original blog post: http://weheartthis.com/2010/01/15/beautyblender-review/

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

